Lab members

The Plant Photobiology team at Utrecht University is headed by prof. Ronald Pierik. We are part of the Plant-Environment Signaling cluster in the department of Biology at Utrecht University, where we share labs and offices.

Our photobiology team, including undergraduate students, in April 2022. picture by Laura Dijkhuizen.
Photobiology researchers (from left to right) 2022: Linge Li, Pierre Gautrat, Andrés Romanowski, Nicole Nieuwendijk, Kyra van der Velde, Ronald Pierik, Sanne Matton, Siddhant Shetty, Chrysa Pantazopoulou, Lisa Oskam, Tugba Akyüz, Martina Huber

December 2019
Photobiology PhD team team after “PhD supervisor of the year event”, June 2019. Left to right: Sara Buti, Lisa Oskam, Valérie Hoogers, Ronald Pierik, Martina Huber, Nicole Nieuwendijk. Missing PhD students in this picture are Jesse Küpers and Sarah Courbier

The group currently is composed of the following people:

Prof. Ronald Pierik
Dr. Andrés Romanowski
Dr. Chrysa Pantazopoulou
Dr. Sara Buti
Dr. Pierre Gautrat
Dr. Martina Huber
Mutthanna Biddanda-Devaiah, MSc
Nicole Nieuwendijk, MSc
Lisa Oskam, MSc
Linge Li, MSc
Kyra van der Velde, MSc
Sanne Matton, MSc
Siddhant Shetty, MSc
Lucilla Salvatore, MSc

Former lab members:
Dr. Kasper van Gelderen (currently COS Heidelberg, GE – PI)
Dr. Jesse Küpers (currently Wageningen University, NL – Gommers lab)
Valérie Hoogers (currently Hudson River Biotechnology, NL)
Dr. Che-Yang Liao (currently Wageningen University, NL – Weijers/Smakowska lab)
Dr. Sarah Courbier (currently University of Freiburg, GE – Hiltbrunner lab)
Dr. Chiakai Kang (currently agriculture branch of Rabobank, NL)
Dr. Scott Hayes (currently Wageningen University, NL – Testerink lab)
Dr. Franca Bongers (currently Chinese Academy of Science, Beijing, China)
Dr. Charlotte Gommers (currently Wageningen University – PI)
Dr. Debatosh Das (currently CUHK Hong-Kong)
Dr. Paulien Gankema (currently Friends of the Earth, Amsterdam, NL)
Dr. Wouter Kegge (currently ASML, NL)
Dr. Mieke de Wit (currently Wageningen University, NL)
Dr. Joanna (Asia) Polko (currently University of North Carolina, USA – Kieber lab)
Dr. Diederik Keuskamp (currently Utrecht University, NL)